CMT to honor Alan Jackson with ‘Artist Of A Lifetime’ Award


CMT announced that country music icon Alan Jackson will receive the “Artist of a Lifetime” award at the 2022 CMT Artists of the Year,  during a 90-minute special airing on CMT on Friday, October 14. CMT wrote on Instagram“The 2022 CMT Artist of a Lifetime ⭐ @officialalanjackson ⭐ Join us as we honor and celebrate him on Friday, October 14 at 9/8c on CMT! #CMTAOTY”

Jackson will join the list of previous “Lifetime” honorees including Randy Travis (2021), Reba McEntire (2019), Loretta Lynn (2018), Shania Twain (2016), Kenny Rogers (2015) and Merle Haggard (2014). CMT said: “We’re honored to recognize the incomparable Alan Jackson as this year’s CMT ‘Artist of a Lifetime.’ For more than thirty years, his traditional sound, iconic voice and beloved catalog of music has captivated audiences across the globe and his talent as a recording artist and songwriter are simply unmatched. From his early beginnings in Newnan, Georgia, to selling out the world’s largest stages, Alan has led fans on a musical journey that proved to be a reflection of their own lives. As his songs continue to inspire new generations of fans, we are privileged to celebrate his lifetime of accomplishments.”

Jackson said in a press release: “I believe I’ve made more videos than just about anybody, and I know how important they have been in bringing my songs to life for the fans, so thank you CMT for all the years and for this sweet honor. I’m very proud.”

The 2022 CMT Artists of the Year will feature some of country music’s biggest stars taking the stage at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center in honor of Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, and Walker Hayes. The star-studded event will premiere on Friday, October 14 at 9/8c.

Editorial credit: Danny E Hooks /